Why I Wouldn’t Want A Girl Child Anymore.

A Dream. When in the midst of chaos, you crave for something that seems improbable, it becomes a dream. My dream came in the form of a Sunday. After a hectic week of cooking, cleaning utensils, attending lectures and sitting through senior school, a.k.a college, comes this one day – Where you wake up with no expectations at all. Where you don’t have to plan anything. It’s just you rolling around in your bed, at the comfort of your blanket, even though it’s not cold at all, with the curtains playing kabbadi with you, teasing you with every little blow of wind, where traffic takes a nap longer than usual and you can feel the calm in every breath. And your life, isn’t running according to your pre-planned time table.

Today was that dream come true. I ate to my heart’s content, took an afternoon nap, feeling like a grandpa as I took it, but weirdly feeling younger when I woke up. At 7 in the evening, I went out for dinner with a few girlfriends. A nice dinner, laughs, the usual, but after such a nice day, even the usual, felt abnormally good. I dropped two of the three girls back, and the last girl and I took a walk.A nice two hour conversation, some strawberry ice-cream, and then I dropped her off to her hostel.

But this is perfect right? Why would I write a blog, if everything was okay and had a happy ending? After all, I started this article by calling it a Dream – and dreams aren’t reality.
As I walked back, passing through the streets of the student area, and then came the line between the dream and reality. The line was being drawn by a biker, who had a friend behind him. He rode in all directions except the one he was supposed to be on, and took a sharp turn, slapped a girl on the butt who was walking with her friend on the footpath and then zoomed off.

Take a moment, read the line again, because I had to see and accept what I had just seen.

Now, have you ever watched a movie where there’s a chauvinistic man who throws his authority over the woman, treats her like she’s an object of sex, and you’re just watching this and thinking “If I was there, I’d teach the guy a lesson. I’d push him through the glass and beat him up in front of the society and publicly shame him”?

Yeah, That doesn’t happen.

Not. One. Bit.

I watched this, and I stood there. Time stood alongside me. The music somehow muted itself and the ice cream had left my throat dry. And I felt everything and nothing at the same time. Nothing at all. Empty. Not angry, not hopeless, not sad, not disappointed. Just empty. Reality dawned, and I started walking, slowly, but steadily towards my place and I felt panic take over me, and I didn’t have the courage to look back at what I had seen, to see if the girl was okay or crying, because panic brought every negative, and demeaning emotion with it. I did eventually look back, but the girl just kept walking, like nothing had happened.

And I thought to myself, in a city like Bangalore, where modern culture and thoughts are at it’s peak, we have this. If I had faced this, personally? I’d be one step closer to killing myself. I’d panic to do anything. Maybe even to walk till the super market across the road, just in the fear that someone will hurt me. I would stereotype, and say the harshest things about the sex that did that to me, and any morality would’ve seemed irrelevant.

But that’s not the thing that hurt me the most. What hit me, was this. Looking at this from a father’s perspective. It’s a dream of mine, to have a daughter. A cute, chubby little girl, who’d grow into a fine, mature woman fighting to leave a mark, a lasting impression. Where I’d love her like no parent has ever before and I’d innately protect her from the tiniest miseries.

And then comes this biker. What if my daughter had to face this?

How will she leave a mark on the world, when a random, illiterate, shallow, useless, filthy and sick man, has left an irremovable scar on hers?!
Because he managed to destroy my dream by being in it for 10 seconds.

And I don’t have a solution here, maybe not even a point but this happened and the next thing I did was write about this, because a part of me still doesn’t know how to feel.

And this. This is how, a biker broke my life long dream, and this is why I wouldn’t want a girl child anymore.

7 thoughts on “Why I Wouldn’t Want A Girl Child Anymore.

  1. I’m speachless. Nothing’s wrong with my eye sight…but my vision is blurred right now. I respect this.

    Every daughter deserves a father like you. You deserve a daughter. Don’t let filthy men rule your world. They can’t and shouldn’t destroy your dream.

    Like

    1. I agree with the point of view, and of course the title is an exaggeration of sorts. But I think just because “it’s a fatherly thing” I’m assuming I’d be scared for my baby girl.

      But thank you for the comment 🙂

      Like

  2. Let’s not allow ourselves to be intimidated by brutes and petty minds. We need to fight against an un fair society and leave a mark. If it means going down fighting so be it.

    But I am not going without a fight

    Like

    1. That’s a way of looking at it personally, but I’d be overly attached to my daughter and she’s always going to be a 1 year old in my eyes. So when I can’t see her and after Ive seen this, it scares me. Not because it’s my fight, or that she can’t handle it, but because, it’s a fatherly instinct I suppose

      Like

  3. These acts are not a new one in bangalore to be witnessed but letting the external factors and circumstances to decide on what we want and not, is a foolishness from any individual especially from true men.. Sorry to be dramatic but it’s the art of true men to strive for what they want and can never let that go… Really good piece of text with good critical knowledge to think about but the outcome isn’t desirable..

    Like

  4. This is so very mind of a girl’s father….unfortunately so !!
    At the same time it makes one think and inspires to put up a fight with such nonsense….what worth is a dream that is not worked for…a fear is no fear anymore when its seen thoroughly…so dont stop dreaming:-)
    Very well put though…keep writing and sharing..

    Like

  5. Funny life is when a bunch of numbskulls can behave like this and ya secondly if we have an option between doing the correct thing and the right thing , always choose the right one don’t falter

    Like

Leave a Reply

